Site en Español

-- Bowie Kuhn Award - 2018 --

The Bowie Kuhn Award is presented annually at the Baseball Winter Meetings (since 1984) to an individual, team or organization who demonstrates support of the chapel program in professional baseball.

The award is named after the fifth man to hold the office of Commissioner of Baseball (1969-1984) and honors the man who gave approval in 1973 to Baseball Chapel to provide ministry to all Major League Baseball teams.

In his autobiography, Kuhn wrote:
“While I normally tried to reach conclusions in a thoughtful way, occasionally I followed hunches. I did so in 1973 when Waddy Spoelstra of the Detroit News, a recovering alcoholic, called and asked if I would fund a program of Baseball Chapel services for each major league club, a born-again Christian talking to a Catholic commissioner.

Spoelstra, broadcaster Ernie Harwell and Red Barber, plus players like Jim Kaat, Al Worthington, Randy Hundley, Don Kessinger, Don Sutton and Bobby Richardson had already been conducting such services on a sporadic basis. Spoelstra wanted to organize it for everyone. My answer was yes, and today, there are weekly Chapel services across the major and minor leagues.”
Past Bowie Khun Award Recipients:
2018 - Russ Meeks, President of the Arkansas Travelers
2016 - Eric Krupa, President of the South Atlantic League
2015 - Kyle Stark, Assistant General Manager of the Pittsburgh Pirates
2014 - Mark Wilson, Chief Operating Office & GM, San Jose Giants
2013 - Gary Roller, General Manager, Billings Mustangs
2012 - Bobby Evans, Vice President of Baseball Operations, SF Giants
2011 - Randy Mobley, International League President
2010 - Monty Hoppel, Midland RockHounds General Manager
2009 – Bill Shanahan, Mobile Bay Bears President
2008 – Lee Landers, Appalachian League President
2007 – Chuck Lamson, Tulsa Owner/President
2006 – Mike Nutter, Fort Wayne GM
2005 – Pat O’Conner, Minor League Baseball
2004 – Sal Artiaga, Phillies
2003 – Cincinnati Reds
2002 – Mexican Pacific League
2001 – Wes Hamilton (AAA umpire)
2000 – Wilmington Blue Rocks
1999 – Bob Richmond, Northwest League President
1998 – Hickory Crawdads
1997 – Florida Marlins Minor League Staff
1996 – John Moss, South Atlantic League President
1995 – Phoenix Firebirds
1994 – Chuck Murphy, Florida State League President
1993 – Ed Lawrence, Umpire Development
1992 – National Association Staff
1991 – Ed Holtz, Macon GM
1990 – George Spielius, Midwest League President
1989 – Doug Melvin, Baltimore Farm Director
1988 – Steve Schryver, NY Mets Farm Director
1987 – Guy Welman, LA Dodgers
1986 – Jimmy Bragan, Southern League President
1985 – Johnny Johnson, President of Minor League Baseball
1984 – Bowie Kuhn, Commissioner of Baseball

Click this link here now: click here buy isotretinoin click here to investigate.

Forgot User Name or Password?

Access restricted to those approved by Baseball Chapel.